$600: Mercedes wishes for kitchen stools.

$1.00

600 dollars needed

Donations are in increments of $1.
For example, to donate $10 enter the quantity 10. To donate $100 enter the quantity 100.

About My Wish

My name is Mercedes. I was born in Stockton Ca. and grew up in Oakland Ca. I am 30 years old. I am in my junior year at Cal State East Bay pursuing my degree in business technology. I have 3 children ages 17,13, and 2.
Growing up my mother was in and out of prison and my father is a victim of gun violence causing him brain damage. I ended up being placed in foster care at 12 years old. I was the youngest girl in my group home which ranged from 12-18. Living in a group home with 15 or more older girls.
I never had that positive adult, teacher or school faculty member that motivated me to finish high school and go to college. Enrolling in independent studies didn’t make that any better. I basically turned in packets every week and picked up new ones. I did not have conversations about higher education at school or at my placement. College was not a reality to me. I became passionate about learning and advocating for myself.
I am really proud that I am the first in my family to graduate college. I am so happy that I set an example for my children. I was able to have my children attend my jr. college graduation to cheer me on. My daughters already talk about college and their future. I have given them more than I was given. I will be able to assist my children with
homework, college applications, scholarships and more. I would like to help build up my community by teaching others the skills I have learned. I plan to start by talking to foster youth, teen parents and families affected by gun violence about higher education. I feel like I am a relatable and I have experienced so much that I can share. I would like to motivate and be that person I needed to guide me. I would like to let other single mothers know that it is possible to work, take care of a household and go to school.

My wish is to be able to make healthier choices for myself and my 3 children. We just moved into our new home. I started a garden and I want to learn new vegetarian and vegan recipes. We do not have anywhere to sit and enjoy our home cooked meals. My wish if for help purchasing barstools for my family.